The Greater Topeka Partnership is proud to announce recipients of its 2024 Annual Meeting Awards, recognizing outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to the community. The awards will be presented at The Partnership’s Annual Meeting on Thursday, April 4, at West Ridge Mall.

The Partnership’s highest honor, The Wolgast Award, is named after former Topeka Mayor Larry Wolgast. The recipient each year is selected by the chair of the GTP Chairs Council, The Partnership’s board of directors. The 2024 Wolgast Award will be presented to Seth Wagoner, chair of Downtown Topeka’s Clean & Safe Task Force, for his tireless efforts to improve the downtown core, benefiting visitors, residents, and business owners alike.

“Working downtown, I can see first-hand the difference Seth has made through his work with Clean & Safe,” said John Dicus, Capitol Federal CEO, and immediate past chair of the GTP. “He saw a need in his community and stepped up to address it. Many leaders across our community have invested in the downtown core in various ways, and Seth’s efforts to keep downtown clean and safe allow everyone to enjoy those investments. It’s that type of care and action-oriented problem solving that makes him such a deserving recipient of the esteemed Wolgast Award.”

The ATHENA Leadership Award, another stand-alone honor, is designed to highlight excellence in female leadership, acknowledging the courage, collaboration and impact of women making a difference in our community. The 2024 ATHENA Leadership Award will be presented to Marlou Wegener, recognizing her exceptional leadership and impactful volunteerism across various facets of the community.

Awards of Excellence, meanwhile, will be presented to Curtis Sneden and Glenda Washington for their advocacy and efforts in strategic and equitable economic development; Mackenzi Mondesir and V Heiland for their contributions to cultural events like For the Culture KS Fest and India Mela, respectively; Mark Yardley for his longstanding service to community, including as treasurer on the GTP Chairs Council; Dave Callanan and Cody Foster for their revitalization efforts at West Ridge Mall; Jennifer Sourk for her impactful behind-the-scenes work in the community and on various local boards; and Shelby Ross, who will receive The Partnership’s 2024 Ambassador of the Year Award for his unwavering support for GTP members and local businesses.

“These exceptional individuals embody the spirit of our community and have remained steadfast in their commitments to moving the Topeka area forward,” said Matt Pivarnik, Partnership CEO. “They are our partners in community success, and their contributions have been instrumental in shaping a brighter future for our city and county. We look forward to congratulating them in front of hundreds of their peers at our April Annual Meeting.”

The Greater Topeka Partnership extends its congratulations to all honorees and looks forward to celebrating their achievements on April 4. To learn more about the event or to purchase tickets, visit